By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Rockdale athletes named All-region
Placeholder Image

Last week, we named our picks for the basketball All-area selections, which were headlined by the finest players from the six high schools between Rockdale and Newton County. This week we learned that some of last week's All-area selections were named All-region.

For Region 2-AAAAAA, which is home to three of the six high schools between Newton and Rockdale County (Rockdale County, Newton and Alcovy) Dwayne Brown (Rockdale) and Connor Ferrell (Rockdale) were named to First Team All-region with the other three players - Bryce Brown, Joshua Parker and Ayinde Russell - coming from Tucker.

The Second Team All-region players from the area included D.J. Hill (Newton), Jalen Jordan (Rockdale) and Jaquan Sims (Newton). Two other players, Najee Kemp (Lakeside) and Larry Pittman (Lovejoy) rounded the All-region roster.

The honorable mentions were: Sean Atwater (Lakeside), Donovan Grubb (Newton), Javon Rosse (Alcovy), Jaron Shivers (Lovejoy) and Jonathan Stephens (Tucker).

Auburn commit Bryce Brown also won Region 2-AAAAAA Player of the Year.