By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
RCPS honors Outstanding Technology Teachers of the year
Placeholder Image

Twenty-two Rockdale County Schools teachers were recognized Wednesday night as the district's Outstanding Technology Teachers of the Year. These teachers will be recognized for their successful and effective efforts integrating technology into the classroom experience for students.

For the 2009-2010 school year, the Instructional Technology Department teamed up with Longhorn Steakhouse, Promethean and eInstruction to recognize the OTTY teachers with a complimentary dinner, plaque, Flip video camera, flash drive and registration to the Georgia Educational Technology Conference in November.

The 2009-2010 Outstanding Technology Teachers of the Year are: Enya Solomon - Alpha, Dr. Jill Murphy - BES, Julie Brogdon - CJH, Michael McGuckin - CMS, Darryl Cone - DMS, Lynette Clark - EMS, Leslie Willaford - FSE, Nancy Matthews - HCE, Sarah Szatkowski - HHS, Shannon Finley - HTE, Molly Blackwell - JHH, Mandie Gray - LES, Chalonda Walker - MMS, Carol Brand - OPEN CAMPUS, Kathy Manzella - PC Center, Samantha Carlisle - PCE, Beth Duren - PSE, James Dinsmoor - RCA, LaToya Pledger - RCHS, Alicia Watkins - SCE, Jarrod Tyler - SES, Chris Wood - SHS.

The program began in 2004-2005 as an effort by the Instructional Technology Department to encourage and reward teachers for their efforts in utilizing technology with their instruction in unique and innovative ways that promote student achievement, higher level cognition and motivation. With the installation of 21st Century equipment in all classrooms, it is expected that RCPS teachers will continue to find creative ways to challenge our students and promote success.