By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Post 77 Best in the State
The plaque honoring Post 77 as Outstanding Post of the year. - photo by Submitted Photo

The American Legion Post 77 in Conyers was recently named “Outstanding Post” in the state for 2012-2013 in its category, a distinction that places it as the best out of Georgia’s 56 Legion Posts. One of the officers responsible for this distinction was also recently named as Commander on the state level as well for the Sons of the American Legion.

Winning the award was tremendous, said outgoing Post 77 Commander Zeste Debro. “That topped off my year,” Debro said. 

Post 77 Adjutant Jim Crutchfield said, “That’s a huge honor. That’s saying we’re the best in the state.”

Debro said it was the members in the post and the response of the community that made Post 77 such a success.

“That shows the kind of personality we have at the Post.” He said, “It’s the community of Rockdale, it’s the whole county. It makes it easy for us.”

Debro was installed as the state Sons of the American Legion commander in a ceremony Sunday, June 23. The state commander represents Georgia in the national Sons of the American Legion stage and is over the 56 posts in the state of Georgia. Debro was the Senior Vice President of the state SAL and has undergone executive training for the position of state SAL commander for the past two years.

Some of his goals during his term include bringing the SAL, the American Legion Auxiliary, and the American Legion together even more, to work as one. Other goals include increasing SAL membership from 5,000 to 6,000 across the state and involving more young people into the Legion fold.

Debro will be stepping down as Post 77’s Commander at the end of July. The officers-elect for the 2013-2014 year are Art Darr as Commander, Butch Henson as Senior Vice Commander, Larry Rodriguez as Junior Vice Commander, Joe Neely as Junior Vice Commander, Jim Crutchfield as Adjutant, Jack Murphy as Finance Officer, Fred Riggins as Chaplain, Eboni Whaley as Service Officer, and Natalie Hannans as Sergeant at Arms. 

They will be inducted in a ceremony at Post 77 on July 26.