By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Partisan local candidates qualify
Placeholder Image

Below is the list of candidates who have qualified for local partisan races by the noon deadline today. Primary elections for partisan races will be held on July 31. The general election is November 6.

Qualified candidates are listed below:

Commission Chair:

Richard Oden (D)- INCUMBENT

Brian Jenkins (D)

 Jason Hill (R)- Business Owner

Commissioner Post 1:

Oz Nesbitt, Jr. (D)- Car Sales INCUMBENT

Jerry Shepperd (D)- Business Owner

 Sam Smiley (R)- Business Owner

Tom Harrison (R)- Business Owner


Donald Ferguson (D)

Eric Levett (D)- Deputy

T. Jeff Wigington (R)- INCUMBENT

Tax Commissioner:

RJ Hadley (D)- Non-profit Manager

Daniel Ray (R)- INCUMBENT



George Levett (D)- Funeral Home Director

Jo Coggins (R)- Medical Clerk/Deputy Coroner


Clerk of Superior and State Courts:

Ruth A. Wilson (D)- INCUMBENT

Holly Bowie (R)- Paralegal


Magistrate Court Chief Judge:

Phinia Aten (D)- Attorney

Clarence "Rudy" Horne, Jr. (R)- INCUMBENT


Probate Court Judge:

Caycie Dix (D)- Attorney

Charles Mays, Sr. (D)- Contractor

Lillis Brown (R)-  INCUMBENT