By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
New school board members sworn in
Swearing-in-BOE-Judge-David-Irwin-Wales-Barksdale-Mandy-North-Brad-Smith-Sharon-Pharr-Tony-Dowdy-IMG 1686
Chief Superior Court Judge David Iwin, Wales Barksdale, Mandy North, Brad Smith, Sharon Parr, and Tony Dowdy.

Five members of the Rockdale County Board of Education were sworn in by Chief Superior Court Judge David Irwin Thursday night. Re-elected members Wales Barksdale and Brad Smith and newly elected members Tony Dowdy, Mandy North and Sharon Pharr took their oath of office.

The board also chose its Chairman and Vice Chairman. Jim McBrayer was chosen as Chairman in a 6-1 vote, with Katrina Young nominating and voting for herself as chairman. Young was also nominated by Sharon Pharr as vice chairman but Brad Smith was chosen as vice chairman in a 4-3 vote, with Pharr, Barksdale and Young voting for Young and McBrayer, Dowdy, North and Smith voting for Smith.