By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
League of Women Voters, The News candidate forum April 3
Placeholder Image

The Rockdale-Newton League of Women Voters, in partnership with The News, will host a candidates’ forum on April 3, starting at 6:30 p.m., at the Rockdale Auditorium, 903 Main Street.

This forum will invite candidates from contested primaries and non-partisan races, including:

- Rockdale County School Board Post 1 non-partisan race, with incumbent Jim McBrayer and challenger Alberteen Young

- Board of Commissioners Post 2 Democratic primary candidates Josie Dean, Arlen Gibson, Doreen Williams (incumbent Commissioner JaNice Van Ness faces no Republican primary opposition)

- State Rep. District 91 Democratic primary candidates incumbent Dee Dawkins-Haigler and challenger Diane Adoma

- State Rep. District 113 Democratic primary candidates incumbent Pam Dickerson and challenger Sharon Sawyer

- U.S. Fourth Congressional District Democratic primary incumbent Hank Johnson and challenger Tom Brown

- U.S. Senate (Saxby Chambliss's seat) Democratic and Republican primary candidates

The forum will ask candidates questions submitted from the audience but will not be a debate between candidates.

The event will be streamed live online at

The primaries and non-partisan elections is May 20. Absentee voting by mail starts April 5 and in-person early voting starts April 28 at 1400 Parker Road; both run until May 16. The voter registration deadline for the May 20 primaries/elections is April 21. For more information, call the Rockdale County Board of Elections office at 770-278-7333.