By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
King, Edwards named to Deal's Advisory Board
Placeholder Image

Two leaders in Rockdale's education system have been named to Gov. Nathan Deal's Education Advisory Board.

Rockdale County Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Sam King and Chief Executive Officer of Rockdale Career Academy, Dr. Miki Edwards were both named to the board formed on Feb. 25. The board is comprised of four different groups of school superintendents, principals, teachers and school gboard members across the state. These groups will work with Gov. Deal to help ensure the best decisions will be made for Georgia's students.

"With the members of my Education Advisory Board now in place, I look forward to meeting with them on a quarterly basis to discuss how we can continue to improve educational outcomes for Georgia students," said Deal. "The Georgians on these panels are leaders in their fields, and they are giving of their time and talents to help our state strive for educational excellence."

Dr. King became superintendent of Rockdale County Public Schools in July, 2005. Beginning his career as a 5th grade math and science teacher in Stone Mountain, Georgia, King has devoted more than 26 years to serving students within the public education system. He has been selecte as a Georgia Superintendent of the Year finalist for two consecutive years, 2009 and 2010. In 2008, he was named Outstanding Educator by the Georgia Association of Educational Leaders. He is a graduate of the Governor's School Leadership Institute and the Superintendent Professional Development Program of the Georgia School Superintendents Association.

King will be joined on the board by superintendents Susan Andrews, PhD of Muscogee County Schools, Matt Arthur of Rabun County Schools, Gayland Cooper, PhD of Rome City Schools, Edmond T. "Ed" Heatley, PhD of Clayton County Schools, Beauford Hicks of Mitchell County Schools, Molly Howard, PhD of Jefferson County Schools Emily Lembeck, PhD of Marietta City Schools, Leonard R. McCoy, Superintendent of Colquitt County Schools, Gordon Pritz, PhD, of Douglas County Schools, Tim Ragan of Echols County Schools, Paul Shaw, PhD, of White County Schools and J. Alvin Wilbanks of Gwinnett County Public Schools.

Edwards served as the assistant principal of instruction at RCA before becoming C.O.O. Edwards has also served as a middle school teacher, middle school assistant principal and principal. She is a graduate of Shorter College, where she earned Middle Grades Education. Edwards received her master's degree in Educational Leadership from the University of Georgia and her Ph.D. in Educational Leadership from Mercer University.

Edwards will be joined on the board by Principals Wes Taylor of Lowndes County High School, Kylie Holley, Superintendant/Principal of Pataula Charter Academy, Laurie Barron, Ph.D. of Smokey Road Middle School, Ed Chang of Kipp Strive Academy, Steven Miletto, Ph.D. of Centennial High School, Kevin Bales of East Hall Middle School, Joe Parlier of Katherine B. Sutton Elementary School, Karen Smits, Ph.D. of the Marietta Center for Advanced Academics, Alan Long, Ph.D. of Jefferson County High School and Kym Yoriko Eisgruber of Mableton Elementary School.