By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
US congressional candidate names local campaign chair
Placeholder Image

Congressional candidate Mike Collins is trying to build support across Georgia’s sprawling 10th congressional district, which includes the eastern half of Newton County, and announced some high-profile local backers to head up his efforts.

Collins is one of six Republicans seeking to replace U.S. Rep. Paul Broun (R-Athens), who is giving up his seat to run for the U.S. Senate. Collins announced campaign chairmen and co-chairmen in each county; in Newton County, the chairman will be Dalton Knox and the co-chairman will be former county commissioner Mort Ewing.

“I’m very excited and humbled that this many folks have stepped up to take a leadership role in our campaign,” Collins said in a press release. “These people are known and respected in their communities and have agreed to work on behalf of my campaign. They understand that spreading our message to overhaul the way business is done in Washington, D.C., is critical in getting our economy back on track.

“As I travel this district, people tell me how fed up they are with the politicians,” Collins said. “I have yet to come across someone who believes that our problems stem from having too many business people in Congress. I’m glad to know my business background is resonating.”

A campaign representative said Collins has organized a team in some counties where the Georgia Republican Party had previously failed to do so.

Collins is co-owner of Collins Industries, a trucking company that specializing in transporting building products; he also owns three other small businesses, according to his website. A native of Jackson, Collins holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Georgia State University. He is married to Leigh Ann, and the couple has three children.

Collins is the son of former U.S. Rep. Mac Collins, who represented Georgia’s 3rd and 8th districts from 1993 to 2005.