By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
NMC Auxiliary awards volunteers
Placeholder Image

Newton Medical Auxiliary members honored hospital volunteers at their monthly December meeting Tuesday at First Baptist Church.

Auxiliary president Frances Rogers welcomed guests and LaRue Henderson delivered the invocation. The East Newton Honors Chorus — in its first year and composed of 61 fourth and fifth graders — performed for the crowd while they dined on herb chicken, dressing, green beans and sweet potato soufflé.

Most of the 83 volunteers honored were present to receive a pin from Hospital Board Liaison Esther Williams. The volunteers were awarded by how many hours of service they have achieved.

100 hours

Patricia Baker, Iva Dinkins, Monty Eckles, Annette German, Vivian Gray, Quantilla Houston, Warren Liem, Karen Page, Joe Richardson, Imogene Sorrells, Tammy Stephens, Jackie Unger and Mikey Wagy

250 hours

Jerry Aldridge, Margaret Autry, Bobbie Banks, Leonard Goss, Val Hampton, Sandra Infinger, Katherine Johnson, Oleta Kimball, Ruby Lewis, Karen Long, Shirley Lott, Ceci Mullins, Dan Paschal, Jean Robinson, Lynn Skobern, Jackie Unger and Judith Weaver

500 hours

Patti Dolan, Claire Donovan, Michelle Green, Libby Hamilton, Mary Kicklighter and Frances Rogers

700 hours

Jim Daniel, Claire Donovan, Jytte Ecker, Kathy Garner, Beverly Hood, Betty Hood, Betty Mallett, Charlie Powell and Kim Trover

1,000 hours

Ernie Carlson, Betty Cascella, Nancy Dooley, Roger Pflug, Charlotte Lunsford, Charlie Powell, Fran Robinson, Leola Thornton and Carolyn Ward.

1,200 hours

Miriam Hall, Connie Kitchens, Jo Ann Owens, Carol Paschal and Nancy Vassallo

1,500 hours

Jean Bayne and E.D. Trimm

1,700 hours

Carol Gabrius, Harold Newton, Haywood Owens, Becky Simchick and Gertrude Vanderhorst

2,000 hours

Josephine Brown, Claudette Desrochers, Sam Patrick and Barbara Speeler

2,500 hours

Joyce Beard

3,500 hours

Lottie Portwood

4,500 hours

Mary Alice Henderson

5,000 hours

Lee Aldridge

Lee Peterson

6,000 hours

Bennie Durden

Star Awards are given to those who have volunteered for 200 hours or more in six months. Earning Star Awards are Lee Aldridge, Ernie Carlson, Betty Cassella, Robert Dean, Claire Donovan, Kay Goff, Katherine Johnson, Johnnie Kitchens, Charlotte Lunsford, Sam Patrick, Charlie Powell, Tammy Stephens, Kim Trover, Jackie Unger and Carolyn Ward.