By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Newton under tornado watch until 8 p.m.
Placeholder Image

IN BRIEF: Newton and Rockdale counties are among the Georgia counties under a tornado watch until 8 p.m. Monday as the remnants of Tropical Depression Lee passes over the state, according to the National Weather Service in Peachtree City.

The counties under the watch include:

Bartow, Bibb, Butts, Carroll, Chattahoochee, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, Crawford, Crisp, Dawson, DeKalb, Dooly, Douglas, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Fulton, Gordon, Gwinnett, Haralson, Harris, Heard, Henry, Houston, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, Macon, Marion, Meriwether, Monroe, Muscogee, Newton, Paulding, Peach, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Rockdale, Schley, Spalding, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taylor Upson, Walton and Webster.

A flash flood watch is also in effect for the north and metro Atlanta areas of the state until Tuesday morning.