By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
NEGRC elects officers

Frank Turner, former Covington city manager, was elected chairman of the Northeast Georgia Regional Commission Council June 18 in Athens.

Turner’s two-year term began July 1, after he received the gavel from past chairman Kevin Little.

Turner represents Newton County as a private-sector representative on the Council. The new vice chairman is Oxford Mayor Jerry Roseberry. Oglethorpe County Chairman Billy Pittard was elected secretary. The oath of office was administered by Commissioner Little and he expressed confidence that the trio will serve NEGRC well during their terms.

The Northeast Georgia Regional Commission provides planning and support services to the 12 counties and 54 municipal governments in the Northeast Georgia Region. The Agency was created in 1963 to be a focal point for regional issues concerning local government and to be a resource for those governments in a variety of specialized areas. These include local government planning, economic development, grant preparation, administration, job training, and aging services. The Northeast Georgia service area encompassed by NEGRC is 3,260 square miles with an estimated population of 584,008.