By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Celebrating mentoring
Placeholder Image

Below are the mentors and mentees honored on Thursday night.


Erica Anderson, Jennifer Arndt, Anthony Avery, Angela Ballard, Candice Ballard, David Burk, Rockie Butts, Gloria Cargile, Mary Chambers, Amy Chambless, Andre Cooper, Wanda Davis, Carol Falconer, Clarence Falconer, Bob Furnad, Janelle Garner, Donna Gaylor, Sharon Gramkow, Hunter Hall, Gail Holloway, Andre Johnson, Barry Johnson, Jeffrey Johnson, Iracema Jones, Kim Lawrence, Jennifer Lewis, Rothell Lewis Jr., Janice Ly, Cheryl Marrett, Kim McCray, Patricia McGinnis, Nicki McLean, Kindra Moore, Maria Moore, Gordon Morris, Todd Nolan, Madryn Odom, Virginia Phillips, Kiwanes Ramsey, Camal Rashada, Kristen Remington, Tamara Richardson, Angela Russell, Melinda Saadein, Michael Sarvis, Jeremy Spinks, Kimberly Stegall, Katrina Stephens, Tomeka Stringer, Rudolph Sullivan, Betty Taylor, Barbara Ward, Latavia Washington, Robert Washington, Da'Neya Weng, Angela White, Kenna White, Sidney Wingfield, Charsley Wren, Lisa Wright


Shamal Alexander, Antwon Allen, Ashley Allen, Ian Ancrum, Aleyia Anderson, Tandra Anderson, Kendrick Arline, Hughson Arnold, Adolphus Banks, John Banks, Edward Bell Jr., Sara Birdsong, Brandon Borg, Ladricia Boswell, Barry Brewer, Adam Briggs, Noah Bryant, Samatha Burgess, Jan R. Burroughs, Courtney Burtts, Max Cain, Taylor Calder, Joseph Carr, Carl Collins, Ivyana Combs, John Dayton, Michelle Dickerson, Sophia Dupree, Trabian Ferguson, Jasper Fleming, Lakisha Freeman, Amaka Greer, Jon Guillaume, Travis Hackett, Jackie Haralson, Logan Harper, Briana Hefferman, Joshua Hill, Jada Hinds, Christan Horton, Reginald Jacobs, Oumar Kaba, Aaron Keasler, Jamarcus Latimore, Zach Ledbetter, Kendrick Lindsey, Curtis Macammon, Montia Major, Kadey Mann, Natasha Matoba, Imani McCollum, Stephen McElroy, Bryson McFalls, Jawaun McSween, Melissa Menzies, Jacob Milligan, Hardy Molder, Akilah Muhammed, Kevin Nash, Jontae Peak, Chaunde Perry, Amiel Pierre, Larry Purifoy, Quintavious Reed, Trey Richardson, Corey Sarten, Krista Savage, Keithoria Scurry, Keely Siddon, Darnae Siler, Tahlor Simmons, Jordan Smith, Austin Stapp, Ashely Stowe, Cameron STringer, Jabali Sutton, Dylan Taylor, Indya Thomas, Don Thompson, Javier Torres, Tania Trevino, Judah Truitt, Ariyana Wallace, Dean Wanliss, Jordan Wilson, Alisha Wise, Montell Wynn

Newton Mentoring, Inc. celebrated their first year of pairing trained adult mentors with students in the Newton County school system to provide support, tutoring, counseling and a constructive role model for their mentees.

"Wherever you go, people agree this is a good program," said Chairman John Boothby. Investing in children when they're young and keeping them on a good path means the community won't have to pay for them later in the law enforcement and court system, Boothby pointed out.

More than 60 mentors, mentees and organizers were recognized in a ceremony on Thursday.

"The real stars are you mentors," Booth said in concluding remarks. "This is a great first year."

For more information on how to get involved, call (678) 381-7948 or email You can also visit


Video clips and photos courtesy of Toni Keith