By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Judge Horace J. Johnson, Jr., named President of Council of Superior Court Judges
Johnson HoraceC web

Alcovy Judicial Circuit Superior Court Judge Horace J. Johnson, Jr. became president of the Council of Superior Court Judges on May 1. Judge Johnson will serve as president through April 30.

Judge Johnson, Jr. has been Superior Court Judge in the Alcovy Judicial Circuit, which includes Newton and Walton counties, since 2002. A native of Newton County, Judge Johnson completed his undergraduate coursework at Oxford College (A.A.) and Emory School of Business (B.B.A.), attaining his Juris Doctorate from The University of Georgia in 1982.

Judge Johnson previously served as the council of superior court judges’ Secretary-Treasurer, Chair of the Mandatory Continuing Judicial Education Committee and member of its Indigent Defense Committee. He has served as a designated Judge on the Georgia Supreme Court and was appointed by the Chief Justice to serve on the inaugural Georgia Accountability Courts Funding Committee. In addition to his regular court dockets, Judge Johnson presides over a Parental Accountability Court addressing child support matters in both Newton and Walton counties.

Judge Johnson is involved with his community, serving on the Advisory Board, J.W. Fanning Institute, University of Georgia; Leadership Georgia Foundation, Board of Trustees (2010 Chairman); Board of Directors, Washington Street Community Center; Board of Directors, United Bank (Covington Division); Board of Counselors, Oxford College of Emory University; Founding Board of Directors, Newton Mentoring, Inc.; and the Covington Kiwanis Club.

He and his wife, Michelle, are active members of their church where he serves currently as Lay Leader and a member of the Chancel and Gospel Choirs. They are the proud parents of two sons.

The Council of Superior Court Judges is made up of the state’s 212 superior court judges and more than 70 senior (retired) superior court judges. It was established by the state legislature in 1985 to further the improvement of the superior courts and the administration of justice in Georgia. The council works to solve problems common to all judges and has adopted strategic planning to identify and pursue operational goals. Duties of the Council include state superior court judges’ budget development and administration; initiating and responding to legislative issues involving the Superior Court; adoption of uniform court rules; preparation of bench publications, including jury charge instructions and benchbooks; and certification of continuing judicial education.

The newly elected officers, immediate past-president, and administrative judges representing each of the ten judicial administrative districts in Georgia comprise the Council of Superior Court Judges’ executive committee, which is authorized to manage the projects and policies of the Council. They also serve on the Judicial Council of Georgia with representatives of the other courts in the state setting policy for the judiciary. The Council’s central office is located in Atlanta.

Judge Johnson will serve on the council with Council President-Elect Judge Tilman E. “Tripp” Self, III, Macon Judicial Circuit, Macon, and Secretary-Treasurer Judge Kathy Stephens Palmer, Middle Judicial Circuit, Swainsboro.