By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Teachers of the Year announced for 2012
The 2012 Teachers of the Year for Rockdale County Public Schools (Not pictured: Open Campus teacher Christie Jones and Barksdale Elementary teacher Julie DeFelice) - photo by Submitted Photo

Rockdale County Public Schools recently announced its 22 school-level Teachers of the Year, who will compete for the title of Rockdale County Teacher of the Year.  One teacher at each school was selected by their peers for the honor of being named his/her school’s Teacher of the Year. All 22 Teachers of the Year are educators to whom others look for inspiration and direction.

Competition for the Rockdale County Teacher of the Year will begin with the school-level candidates completing a comprehensive application, in which they will answer questions related to their teaching philosophy and their reasons for deciding to serve the community as educators. The applications will be reviewed and scored by a panel of three judges.  After totaling the scores, three finalists will be named in October.

The judges will observe each finalist teaching students in his/her classroom. Then, each finalist will be personally interviewed. The Rockdale County Teacher of the Year, who will represent Rockdale County Public Schools at the state competition.

“We are fortunate to have such outstanding teachers in our schools,” says Superintendent Richard Autry.  “These teachers are passionate about educating children and serve as a model for others to follow.  I am proud to recognize each of them as their school’s Teacher of the Year and look forward to naming our three finalists for Rockdale County next month.”


Elementary School:

Barksdale – Julie DeFelice

C.J. Hicks – Alvinette Maultsby

Flat Shoals – Cynthia Hurst

Hightower Trail – Bernice Grizzle

Honey Creek – Kara Ollick

J.H. House – Kim White

Lorraine – Amy Autry

Peek’s Chapel – Stacey Hicks

Pine Street – Lamandria Flakes

Shoal Creek – Kathleen Ruff

Sims – Sharlene Lavergne


Middle School:

Conyers – Heather Pittman

Davis – Kathleen King

Edwards – Rochelle Mungin

Memorial – Sabrina Peters


High School:

Heritage – Kimberly Davis

Rockdale – Allison Yeomans

Rockdale Magnet – Amanda Baskett

Salem – Antoinette James


Non-Traditional School:

Alpha Academy – Stephen Peprah

Open Campus – Christie Jones

Rockdale Career Academy – James Dinsmoor