By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
One community, one goal
Rockdale County CEO Richard Oden, right, and Conyers Councilman Cleveland Stroud, representing Mayor Randy Mills, accept the "Partnership in Action" award from Democratic Party Chairman Stan Williams, center. (For more pictures of the honorees, go to - photo by Connie Alsobrook

Community members, leaders and students were honored at the second annual Rockdale Democratic Party Gala on April 24, which celebrated the theme "One Community, One Goal."

During the Education, Faith Based, Human Services and Team Awards Celebration portion the following people were honored:

High school students Jessica Armand, Adetola Faminu, and Clayton D'Andrade

David L. Powe, ED.D. — Chief Admin. Officer, University of Miss. Medical Center

Dr. Earl G. Yarbrough Sr., PhD — President, Savannah State University

Dr. Jacquelyn Belcher — President Emeritus, Georgia Perimeter College

Erly Saldano, Director — Barksdale Boys and Girls Club

Dawn Ali — Former Assoc. Director, Graduate Admissions, Drexel University

Sadie Wright — Distinguished Retired Educator/Savannah, Georgia

Peggy Clemons — Administrator, Newton County Bd. of Education

Pastor Aldren Sadler — Church of New Beginning — President Citizens Progressive Club

Pastor Cheryl Collins — Pleasant Hill CME Church

Pastor Larry Spurlock — Macedonia Baptist Church

Chairman/CEO, Rockdale County Government, Richard Oden and Mayor Randy Mills of Conyers

Lorraine Harrison, Rockdale Chamber Board member, Willie Gibson NAACP President and Brandon Taylor, General Manager, Longhorn Steakhouse

Dr. Samuel T. King, RCPS Superintendent, and Wales F. Barksdale, Board of Education Chair, Rockdale County Board of Education

Pastor Tim Hogg, Chairman Richard Oden and Allene Eatman, of United Rockdale Summit

During the Government, Business, Humanitarian and Team Awards Celebration portion, the following people were recognized:

Dr. Rogsbert Phillips — Medical Surgeon and CEO —Sisters By Choice

Honorable Horace Johnson — Alcovy Judicial Circuit

Honorable Ronald Ramsey — Georgia State Senator

Donald Ferguson — Law Enforcement/Fulton County

Harold Greenwell — CEO, Interior Styles

Harold V. Jones — Former Solicitor General, Augusta, Georgia

RJ Hadley — Former Rockdale County Obama Delegate

Ana Goldson-Walker — Former Sr. VP of the Caribbean American Chamber of Commerce, N.Y.

Margaret Freeman — Founder of Hannah Angel Center

L.Y. Marlow — National Acclaimed Author, Washington, D.C.

East Metro Democratic Party Chairpersons (Sandra Austin, DeKalb; Mike Berlon, Gwinnett; Samuel Valme, Henry. Jerry Childress, Newton; and Ollie James, Walton)