By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
The Lions Share
Placeholder Image

On Thursday, June 24, the Covington Lions held their New Officer Installation Banquet.

Dacus Aaron, newly elected president gave special recognition and a plaque to Jack Treadwell, son of Craig and Jill Treadwell, and grandson of Buddy and Susan Adams. Both Craig and Buddy are Lions. For the past several years, Jack has been active in all the Lions events — not because he was asked, but because he wants to be involved in the community services done by the Lions. Jack is only 14 years old. He has helped move wood for the chicken barbecue, take trash to the receptacles, assisted in moving supplies for an event and much more. All Lions recognize Jack as one of their own.

Doreen Stallworth (Lion of the Year in 2008/2009) presented Roger Pflug with his Lion of the Year 2009/2010 plaque. Stallworth said that Roger is a Lion who "makes things happen."

Sandy Mercer of the Sandersville Lions Club and Past District Governor presented Doreen Stallworth and Ken Royston with the Melvin Jones Fellow award. Melvin Jones is the founder of the Lions Clubs International. A donation to the Lions Club International Foundation is given in behalf of every Melvin Jones recipient. It is through this support that LCIF has been able to meet humanitarian needs in our community and around the world. Also, their names will be added to the International Headquarters electronic list of recipients, which operates 24/7. They were both given not only a plaque, but, the Melvin Jones Fellowship lapel pin dedicated to humanitarian service to the highest degree.

Sandy Mercer gave a very heartwarming speech and encouraged the Covington Lions Club to continue their humanitarian efforts — that they set the high standards for other Clubs. He followed his speech with the Induction of new members Rick Hill, Todd Sheffield and Jerry Aldridge.

Finally Sandy conducted the Installation of Officers. They are Dacus Aaron, president; Anne Wheeler, first VP; Randy Worthington, second VP; Earl Stallworth, third VP; James Williams, secretary/treasurer; Phil Owens, tail twister; Minnie Henderson, lion tamer; Joe Richardson, chaplain; Mike Dispain, one year director; Roger Pflug, one year director; Doreen Stallworth, two year director; Lee Mayfield, two year director; Ken Royston, immediate past president; Richard Garner, membership chairman, Andy Austin, membership vice chairman; and Rick Hill, membership member.