By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
NCSS announces school-level teachers of the year
Seated (L-R): Mary Ivie, Marcel Carter, Iris Elaine Owensby, Alice Brown, Sabrina Fulton-Allen, Kathy Shropshire, Julie Holt, Debra Rivas, and Lori Wardingley. Standing (L-R): Brandy Rowe, Abby Hutchinson, Scott Sloop, Ali Geigerman, Heather Landers, Sharonda Tarplin, Gary Brown, Thomas Luke, Tyrell Johnson, Chantae Pittman, Joel Singleton, Camiel Grant, & Heather Henderson. Not Pictured: Michael Wright - photo by Staff Report

COVINGTON, Ga. - The Newton County School System (NCSS) and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce are pleased to announce the 2017-2018 school-level teachers of the year. These teachers will now participate in the county program with the winner serving as the NCSS’s 2018 Teacher of the Year.

Over the summer, each of the nominees worked on the district Teacher of the Year essay packet, which required each teacher to answer a number of questions concerning their educational background, philosophy, and style of teaching. On Tuesday, September 19, and Wednesday, September 20, each teacher will participate in a 20-minute interview to be conducted by a panel of volunteer judges representing Newton County Schools, the Newton County Chamber of Commerce and local businesses and civic organizations.

Once scores from the essays and interviews are tallied, three finalists will be determined (the teachers with the three highest combined scores). On Tuesday, September 26, the Teacher of the Year selection committee will observe each of the three finalists teaching in his or her classroom. The teacher with the highest combined score on the essay, interview, and observation, will be announced as the Newton County School System’s 2018 Teacher of the Year during a special ceremony at Newton High School on Thursday, October 5 at 4:45 p.m.

The NCSS would like to congratulate the school-level Teachers of the Year, as they are each worthy of this special honor. As such, all 23 Teachers of the Year will be recognized at the reception at Newton High School, with the two runners-up each receiving a crystal vase award. The 2018 Newton County Teacher of the Year will receive a crystal vase, a free, three-month car rental from Covington Ford, and a check for $1,000. In addition, this year’s winner will also represent Newton County School System in the Georgia Teacher of the Year program.

Newton County’s Teacher of the Year program would not be possible if it were not for the support of our community. As a result, the Newton County School System and the Newton County Chamber of Commerce would like to extend special thanks to the Chamber Champions, sponsors of the 2018 Teacher of the Year program: Ginn Motors, Newton Federal Bank, Piedmont Newton Hospital, Snapping Shoals EMC, Alcovy Media, Covington News, General Mills, AT&T, Bank of North Georgia, Baxalta, Georgia Power, Great Estates Landscaping, McMichael’s Construction, Newton County Water and Sewerage Authority, Pinnacle Bank, SKC Inc., TPA Realty Services, United Bank, Wagner Service Solutions, Bard, BB&T, Beaver Manufacturing, Bridgestone Golf, Georgia Connector, Newton College & Career Academy, Newton Citizen, Sunbelt Builders, The Center, and Tread Technologies Company.