By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
NCSS announces 2017 Valedictorians, Salutatorians
Pictured from left, AHS Salutatorian Sarah Barrentine, AHS Valedictorian Jared Griggs, EHS Valedictorian Jacob Smith, EHS Salutatorian Brigit Joyce, NHS Valedictorian Kara Gartner and NHS Salutatorian Molly Cady.

Newton County School System announced its highest-ranked students of the graduating class of 2017 this week, including the announcement of each high school’s valedictorian and salutatorian.

Alcovy High School

Alcovy High School’s (AHS) valedictorian has been named as Jared Griggs. Griggs plans on attending the University of Georgia or Georgia State University in the fall to pursue a degree in business.

He selected Lisa Teasley as his favorite teacher.

AHS’ salutatorian is Sarah Barrentine, who has a plan on serving with Operation Mobilization for two years after graduation. She named Heather Henderson at Newton College and Career Academy as her favorite teacher.

The rest of AHS’ top 10 students are rounded out with: Hannah Hinton (undecided), Samantha Bonnett (University of Georgia), William Holmes (Oglethorpe University or Georgia College and State University), Christopher Persaud (Kennesaw State University), Lauren Hill (Mercer University), Savannah Lawrence (University of North Georgia), Mackenzie Parks (Clark Atlanta University) and Taylor Freeman (undecided).

Eastside High School

Eastside High School (EHS) announced its valedictorian as Jacob Smith. Smith plans to attend the University of Georgia to pursue a degree in English and linguistics in the fall.

He selected his favorite teacher as Eric Adams.

EHS’ salutatorian is Brigit Joyce, who plans on attending the Georgia Institute of Technology to pursue a degree in industrial engineering after graduation. She selected Michael Poor as her favorite teacher.

EHS’s top 10 students also include: Katie Beth Fowler (University of Georgia or Vanderbilt), Miranda Hopper (undecided), Alyssa-Dean Huie (Pennsylvania), Justin Wagstaff (Georgia Southern University), Skye Johnson (Georgia College and State University or University of Georgia), Evan Gravitt (undecided), Madison McCrorery (University of Georgia or Mississippi State University) and Elizabeth Cooper (Augusta University).

Newton High School

Newton High School (NHS) announced its valedictorian as Kara Gartner. Gartner plans to attend Georgia State Univeristy in the fall to pursue a degree in Astrophysics.

She selected Dr. Kia James as her favorite teacher.

NHS’ salutatorian is Molly Cady, who plans on attending the Bradeis University to pursue a degree in health science after graduation. She selected Dr. Francene Breakfield as her favorite teacher.

The rest of NHS’ top 10 students are rounded out with: Sterling Waller (Vanderbilt), Jayla Porter (Georgia Tech), Julia McCartney (Boston University), Cambrilyn Scofield (University of Georgia), Nnaeka Onyekwuluje (George Washington), Tyesha Hines (Valdosta State University), Amari Young (Brown University) and Joshua Tukes (Georgia Tech).