By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
JDA elects officers for 2017
Placeholder Image

The Joint Development Authority (JDA) of Jasper, Morgan, Newton and Walton Counties held its first meeting of 2017 Jan. 25 at the Old Moore House, Stanton Springs, in Social Circle.

During the meeting, the JDA heard updates from representatives of the involved counties, dealt with agenda issues for the new year and elected officers for 2017.

The new officers are:      

Chairman: Alan Verner (Morgan County citizen representative)                                                

Vice Chairman: Kevin Little (Chairman, Walton County Board of Commissioners)

Treasurer: Steve Jordan (Jasper County citizen representative)

Secretary: Denny Dobbs (Newton County citizen representative) 

According to information on its website, the JDA was formed in 1999 with the goal of attracting industry to the region and creating a research park for the bio-science industry.

To learn more, visit