By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
PREP BASKETBALL: Rams duo among Atlanta Tipoff Club 2022 honorees
Newton's Stephon Castle (2) dribbles toward the basket against McEachern during the first round of the GHSA 7A State Basketball Playoffs. The Rams won 62-57. - photo by Anthony Banks | The Covington News
Region Champ Loss
Newton's Jakai Newton (0) puts up a shot against Grayson's Kylan Fox (1) during the Region 4-AAAAAAA championship game on Friday night. - photo by Anthony Banks | The Covington News

ATLANTA — Performances on the hardwood by Newton’s Stephon Castle and Jakai Newton have landed the Rams duo postseason honors.

The Atlanta Tipoff Club recently unveiled its 2022 Atlanta All-Metro High School Boys and Girls teams, recognizing the top players and coaches from across the metro.

Castle, a junior currently committed to play college basketball at UConn, was named to the boys’ third team. Newton, a junior committed to play college basketball at Indiana, was selected as an honorable mention.

Castle and Newton were key contributors to the Rams’ run to a Final Four finish in the GHSA state playoffs. 

Castle averaged 16.6 points, 6.5 rebounds and 3.2 assists per game, which led the team in all categories. He was named the All-Covington News boys MVP, as well as the Region 4-AAAAAAA Player of the Year.

Newton averaged 14.3 points, 5.2 rebounds and 1.7 assists per game. He was selected First Team All Region for Region 4A-7A, an All-State selection, and First Team All-Covington News.

For a complete list of honorees, visit 

Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious national honors in all of college and high school basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the family of Naismith Awards annually recognizes the most outstanding men’s and women’s college and high school basketball players and coaches. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the men’s and women’s college basketball defensive players of the year, as well as lifetime achievement awards to basketball officials and outstanding contributors to the game. UCLA’s Lew Alcindor received the first Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy in 1969, while the late Anne Donovan (Old Dominion) was the inaugural women’s recipient in 1983. Corporate partners of the Naismith Awards include Jersey Mike’s and Werner Ladder.