By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Rockdale County Spelling Bee champion crowned
IMG 6368

Memorial Middle School student Brandon Hong won the 2015 Rockdale Count Spelling Bee Friday morning. The winning word he had to spell was "prima donna." Hong will move forward to compete in the District 5 spelling bee competition, organized by the Georgia Association of Educators, on Feb. 28. Winners from that bee will have a chance to go on to the state-wide contest on March 20, 11 a.m. at Georgia State Univerisity.

Edwards Middle School student Ryan Valley was the runner-up.

In all, 15 elementary and middle school students from across the county competed for the county spelling bee title at Memorial Middle School, 3205 Underwood Road, Conyers.

The following students were winners and runners up in their local school and competed in the 2015 Rockdale County Spelling Bee

Barksdale Elementary: Drew Covington (alternate/runner up Tiara Holmes)
CJ Hicks Elementary: Ian Fredrick (alternate/runner up Luis Martinez)
Flat Shoals Elementary: Allanah Stanton (alternate/runner up Isaac Omotoso)
Hightower Trail Elementary: Tyloni Bailey (alternate/runner up Damien Astwood)
Honey Creek Elementary: Nia Mention (alternate/runner up Camani Stegall)
JH House Elementary: Janae Inniss (alternate/runner up Anthony Diaz)
Lorraine Elementary: Kennedey Boothe (alternate/runner up Emily Carter)
Peek's Chapel Elementary: Destiny Sarter (alternate/runner up Keenian Carswell)
Pine Street Elementary: Kristina Kenney (alternate/runner up Sharde Osbourne)
Shoal Creek Elementary: Eric Edwards (alternate/runner up Syerra Palmer)
Sims Elementary: William Boone (alternate/runner up Cyhras McMillian)
Conyers Middle: Alana Moore (alternate/runner up Laila Boyd)
Davis Middle: Maria Scott (alternate/runner up Tylan Wyatt)
Edwards Middle: Ryan Valley (alternate/runner up Nathan Sapp)
Memorial Middle: Brandon Hong (alternate/runner up Naomi Pinnock)

Pronouncer was Ericka Tucker, RCPS Language Arts Coordinator; judges were Joanna Anglin, RCPS Academic Rigor Coordinator, Andrea Pritchett, RCPS Director of Curriculum and Instruction, Dwight Spencer, RCPS Transportation Operations Manager; organizers were Fatima Cheffen, April Swain, Jennifery Toney; opening remarks were given by MMS Student Council President Kayla Andrews.