By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
RCPS Spelling Bee on Feb. 7

Rockdale County Public Schools announced the participants of the 2013 Rockdale County Spelling Bee, on Thursday, Feb. 7, 9:30 a.m., at Edwards Middle School.

The winners from the spelling bees of each elementary and middle school will face off in the Feb. 7 county-wide bee. The runner up will serve as the understudy who will step in if the winner is not available.

The winner of the Rockdale County Spelling Bee will go on to the District Five Regional Bee Feb. 23, 10 a.m., Mundy’s Mill Middle School, 1251 Mundy’s Mill Road, Jonesboro. The winner of the regional bee will go on to the State Spelling Bee on March 15, 11 a.m., at Georgia State University–Student Center, Atlanta.

Last year's winner of the Rockdale County Spelling Bee was Jazz Duncan from Memorial Middle School, who beat out her little sister Zora, who was a fifth grader in Flat Shoals Elementary. This year, however, both Duncan siblings are in Memorial Middle School. A sibling from the Duncan family has won the county bee trophy for the last five years.

Barksdale Elementary
Alyssa Weekly, Winner; Chelsey Tinsley, Runner Up 

C.J. Hicks Elementary
Chalandrea Banks, Winner; Philip Green, Runner Up 

Flat Shoals Elementary
Denncey Bois, Winner; Devante Coley, Runner Up

Hightower Trail Elementary
Grant Tomlinson, Winner; Bryan West, Runner UP

Honey Creek Elementary
Olivia Johnson, Winner; Nick Middleton, Runner Up

J.H. House Elementary
Clemencia El Antouri, Winner; lvin McQueen, Runner Up

Lorraine Elementary
Mackenzie Bosworth, Winner; Elizabeth Futch, Runner Up

Peek's Chapel Elementary
Triston Seltzer, Winner; Gregory Smith, Runner Up

Pine Street Elementary
Ashonti Shy, Winner; Shantelle Bartley, Runner Up

Sims Elementary
Imani Gunnision, Winner; Lauren Davis, Runner Up

Conyers Middle
Carlos Haynes, Winner; Marisa Dixon, Runner Up

Davis Middle
Kayla Johnson, Winner; Sydney Driver, Runner Up

Edwards Middle
Haley Holcombe, Winner; Jordan O’Rear, Runner Up 

Memorial Middle
Jazz Duncan, Winner; Zora Duncan, Runner Up