By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Candidates qualify for May 20 ballot
Primary and nonpartisan election races shape up
Placeholder Image

Local and state races for the May 20 primary election ballot shaped up Friday as candidates hit the deadline for qualifying.

Three Democrats will compete to challenge incumbent JaNice Van Ness for the Post 2 seat on the county Board of Commissioners.

Incumbent Board of Education Chairman James McBrayer has a challenger. Alberteen Young, a Conyers certified public accountant, entered the race this week.

Most incumbent state representatives and senators are running unopposed. In House District 91, incumbent Dorothea Dawkins-Haigler has a Democratic primary opponent. And in House District 114, a Democrat has entered the race to challenge incumbent Republican L. Thomas Kirby in the fall.

The full list of qualifying candidates is as follows:

Rockdale County Board of Commissioners, Post 2
Democrats: Josie Dean, Arlen Gibson, Doreen Williams
Republican: JaNice Van Ness (incumbent)

Rockdale County Board of Education (Non-partisan)
Post 1: James McBrayer (incumbent), Alberteen Young
Post 2: Katrina Young

Rockdale County Superior Court Judge (Non-partisan)
David Irwin (incumbent)

Rockdale County District Attorney
Republican: Richard Read (incumbent)

State House Districts
District 90
Democrat: Pamela Stephenson (incumbent)
District 91
Democrats: Diane Adoma, Dorothea Dawkins-Haigler (incumbent)
District 92
Democrat: Tonya Anderson (incumbent)
District 109
Republican: R. Dale Rutledge (incumbent)
District 114
Democrat: G. Keith Thomas
Republican: L. Thomas Kirby (incumbent)

State Senate Districts
District 17
Republican: Richard Jeffares (incumbent)
District 43
Democrat: Ronald Ramsey (incumbent)