By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
16 RCPS schools named as Title I Distinguished
Placeholder Image

Sixteen Rockdale County schools have been named Georgia Title I Distinguished Schools.

Elementary schools C.J. Hicks, J.H. House, Pine Street, Flat Shoals, Peek’s Chapel, Shoal Creek, Sims, Barksdale, and Honey Creek and middle schools are: Conyers, Memorial, Edwards, and Ray Davis were named Title I Distinguished schools. Rockdale County, Salem and Heritage high schools were also named to the list.

 To be eligible for this distinction, schools must have achieved Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) at least three years in a row. Fifteen of the 16Rockdale schools were awarded federal funds because they have been on this distinguished list in years past. Heritage High School earned a certificate for making AYP three consecutive years and will qualify for federal funding next year. Hightower Trail Elementary has made AYP for the past two years and although Lorraine Elementary has continuously made AYP, it does not qualify for Title I funds.

"These schools have shown that high expectations, hard work and collaboration do improve student achievement," State Superintendent John Barge said in a recent press release. "I'm so pleased to recognize the educators, students and parents in these schools and school districts."

“Receiving this kind of state recognition affirms that our focus on student achievement and each child reaching his or her highest potential is truly making an impact,” says RCPS Superintendent Dr. Samuel King.  “We are proud of the work that is being done and must commend our teachers, students, parents and administrators for their unwavering pursuit of excellence in education.”