By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Sheriffs employees honored at ceremony
Placeholder Image

For the fourth year in a row, Newton County Sheriff Ezell Brown honored employees of the sheriff’s office with an awards ceremony, to showcase their hard work and dedication to the citizens of Newton County.

Newton County District Attorney Layla Zon, who was the guest speaker at the ceremony, told the deputies and NCSS employees how proud she and her office was of them, and of the work they do.

"You are truly our hometown heroes," she said, adding that of all the words people use to describe members of law enforcement, her favorite is peace officer, because their mere presence invokes peace.

"You keep the peace in our community…and that is what all of us, at the core of our bodies, yearn for. Peace. Now more than ever we need peace…we need you."

Awards for years of service

One Year: Romario A. Johnson, Veronica M. Ramirez, Bryant Jones, Freda Holloway, Cindy D. Hooper, Jeffrey Maden, Bradrick J. Hill, Beau M. Alexander and Timel B. Parrish.

Five Years: Lawrence E. Digby, John S. Hood, Ronald E. Woodson, Charles E. Ledford, Aimee L. Oliver, Robert W. Scott Jr., John L. Redlinger, Kaddeem M. Myrie, Wesley W. Atha, Barbara K. Ewing, Jerry J. Rousselle, Fred D. Landress, Radny P. Singleton, Priscilla T. Gilbert, Roderick J. White, Jeremy T. Vieira, Paula G. Worthey, Andre L. Lawrence, Selena L. Williams, Fate E. Reed, Dawn T. Hunter, Darrell W. Odom, Jeremy C. Salers, Jamie M. Green, Tamieka S. Ross and Billy R. Leazer.

10 Years: Chad M. Hunt, Paul H. Gunter, Walter G. Taylor and Demeca S. Smith

15 Years: Daronna N. Cobb, Sonya N. Benton, Christopher M. Hegwood, Christopher B. Hale and Kenneth D. Kent

20 Years: Brent C. Langley and Mark J. Mitchell

25 Years: Carol J. Threadgill and Gary L. Bradford

35 Years: Tommy L. Thomason

Purple Heart: Tommy Jones

Division Deputy of the Year

Patrol: Steve P. Gunnells

Criminal Investigation Division: Sharron L. Stewart

Court Services: Thomas K. Gladden

Special Investigation Unit: Richard A. Howard

Detention: Fate E. Reed

Deputy of the Year: Mark A. Polite

Rookie of the Year: Aimee L. Oliver

Employee of the Year: Barbara K. Esque