By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
See videos from Thursday's forum
Placeholder Image

The Covington News and Covington-Newton County Chamber of Commerce hosted a forum for local contested races Thursday night before a packed house at The Center for Community Preservation and Planning.

Questions focused on economic development and district-specific issues, and every candidate was asked whether they had committed a crime previously.

Be sure to check out the forum for youself by viewing the videos below.

Below is a list of the candidates that attended the forum:

County Chairman - Democrat
Kathy Morgan (incumbent)
Marcus Jordan


Board of Commissioners (BOC), District 1 - Republican
John Douglas
John Strauss


BOC, District 3 - Democrat
Nancy Schulz (incumbent)
Tony Flanagan


Board of Education, District 4 - Democrat
Almond Turner (incumbent)
Franklin Perry


BOC, District 5 - Democrat
Marcello Banes
Philip Johnson

BOC, District 5 - Republican
Ronnie Dimsdale
Wesley Dowdy
Levie Maddox
Jared Rutberg


Sheriff - Republican
Phillip Bradford
Bill Watterson