By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Judges to be sworn in

On Dec. 16, at 9:30 a.m. in the jury impaneling room in the Newton County Judicial Center, the judges of the Superior Courts of the Alcovy Judicial Circuit (Newton County and Walton County) will be sworn in by the Honorable Harris P. Hines, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Georgia. 

Each of the Superior Court judges, John M. Ott, Samuel D. Ozburn, Horace J. Johnson, Jr., Eugene M. Benton, and W. Kendall Wynne, Jr., was re-elected without opposition in the nonpartisan general election in May of 2016.

The Bar Associations of Newton County and Walton County will also recognize Brian D. "Buck" Rogers, a resident of Newton County, as the president-elect of the State Bar of Georgia.

A reception hosted by the Newton County and Walton County Bar Associations will follow.  The public is invited.