By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Elks Club Hoop Shoot
Placeholder Image
High scorers: First and second place winners of the Palmer-Stone Elementary Elks Hoop Shoot smile with their medals and basketballs. Pictured are Coach John Krieger, front left, Ashleigh Williams, Montia Major, Rodrekis Mitchell, Tyree Ligon, Coach Kerry Hood, back left, Zachary Ledbetter (first place boys ages 8-9), Breshay Norwood (first place girls ages 8-9), Vianca Grier (first place girls ages 10-12), Amir Butts (first place boys ages 10-11) and Elk member Ray Edwards.

First place winners from each of the county’s elementary schools will compete in their age categories in the countywide Hoop Shoot at 1 p.m. Sunday at Newton High School. Winners will advance to district competition held Feb. 7 and those winners will move to the state competition Feb. 22. After regional competitions, winners move the national tournament where they have the chance to win a $50,000 scholarship. The top six finalists also have their names inscribed in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Funding for the competition is provided by the Elks National Foundation, the charitable arm of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. Elks have a commitment to providing a healthy future for America’s youth. The club’s youth programs include the Elks Drug Awareness Program, Soccer Shoot and Youth Veteran Volunteers. For more information about the Hoop Shoot, visit Visit