By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
NCSS students selected for GMEA District IV Honor Chorus
NCSS logo

COVINGTON, Ga. - Newton County School System was well represented at the recent Georgia Music Educators Association’s District IV Honor Chorus as 45 students were selected to participate in the prestigious group.

According to Ms. Chantae Pittman, director of choral activities for Alcovy High School, their school chorus director selected the students for the GMEA District IV Honor Chorus.

“These were some of the finest vocal musicians who represented each school,” Pittman said. “These students prepared their music prior to attending honor chorus for two days’ worth of rehearsals. The culminating performance took place at Stephenson High School.”

Ms. Christine Kraemer, Cousins Middle School band director and music content specialist for Newton County Schools, noted that the District IV Honor Chorus is comprised of students representing DeKalb, Rockdale, Newton, Morgan, Jasper, and Butts counties.

“The students who earned a place in this ensemble are among the most accomplished vocalists in their school district,” she added.

Newton County School System students selected for the GMEA District IV Honor Chorus include:

 Vocalist and school:

Sanai Atherton, Clements Middle School

Alana Barnett, Clements Middle School

Lynia Brown, Clements Middle School

Ariyal Bryant, Clements Middle School

Jasmine Crouch, Clements Middle School

Tralee Henry, Clements Middle School

Khalen Holland, Clements Middle School

M’Kjai Lewis, Clements Middle School

Na’Ema Lumpkin, Clements Middle School

Mckinley Webb, Indian Creek Middle School

Garrione Baker, Indian Creek Middle School

Hannah Fuss, Indian Creek Middle School

Latayla Billingslea, Indian Creek Middle School

Elizabeth Johnson, Indian Creek Middle School

Asia Shepard, Indian Creek Middle School

Mona Lopez, Indian Creek Middle School

Alisha Frederick, Indian Creek Middle School

Stanton Harrison, Indian Creek Middle School

Sarah Dietrich, Indian Creek Middle School

Kayla Ragbirsingh, Indian Creek Middle School

Katherine Hanson, Newton County Theme School

Savannah Chaudhuri, Newton County Theme School

Gracie Bates, Newton County Theme School

Ansley Douglas, Newton County Theme School

Lydia Bishop, Newton County Theme School

Alayna Jones, Newton County Theme School

Anslee Allen, Newton County Theme School

Hannah Lee, Alcovy High School

Abbi Kent, Alcovy High School

Maya Blash, Alcovy High School

Trey Abercrombie, Alcovy High School

Xavier Elliton, Alcovy High School

Austin Wells, Alcovy High School

Jalen Cason, Alcovy High School

Jeremy Hooks, Alcovy High School

Daivion Wilson, Alcovy High School

Josiah Webb, Newton High School

Micah Webb, Newton High School

Makerri Webb, Newton High School

Haniyah Harris, Newton High School

Faith Brumelow, Newton High School

Destiny Vickerie, Newton High School

D’Mari Jones, Newton High School

Jainaba Drammeh, Newton High School

Noble Pryor, Newton High School

For more information, contact Ms. Sherri Davis, director of public relations for Newton County School System, at