By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Eastside High Schools class of 2009 offered over $8 million in scholarships
Placeholder Image

To date, 66 out of 282 seniors have been offered 146 scholarships totaling $8,375,800. A total of 58 different colleges and universities from 16 different states and the District of Columbia contributed to this year’s class total. Presently, this outstanding class has accepted music, military and merit-based offers. This does not include the HOPE scholarship, which is calculated separately. The class total also includes 45 local scholarships donated through 34 different organizations totaling over $186,000.


Students who were offered three or more scholarships include: Kevyn Agudo, Anderico Bailey, Natalia Barreto, Mollie Cronan, Pearson Cunningham, Michael Green, Joel Griswell, Courtney Jackson, James Johnson, Evan Jones, Kayla Jones, Jowanna Malone, Caroline Meadors, Aaron Ogletree, Meghann Timmins, Ariel VanLeuven, Karl Williams, Justin Wray and Leaha Wynn.


Kevyn Agudo had the highest scholarship total with over $1,000,000 in offers. He accepted a scholarship to Furman University. Jowanna Malone and Leaha Wynn each received close to $1,000,000 in scholarship offers. Jowanna received offers from prestigious schools such as Georgetown University, Yale University and Princeton University. She also received a scholarship offer to Harvard University, where she plans to enroll. Leaha Wynn, valedictorian and STAR student of Eastside’s class of 2009, also plans to attend Harvard University. In addition to Harvard University, she was offered scholarships from the University of Notre Dame, Tulane University, Stanford University and the University of Chicago, among others. James Johnson received over $700,000 in scholarship offers. He plans to attend the College of William & Mary. Meghann Timmins accepted the prestigious Martin Luther King Scholarship from Oxford College of Emory University. This local scholarship provides her with full tuition for two years at Oxford College and two years at Emory University. Salutatorian Ariel VanLeuven received three local scholarships. She plans to enroll at the University of Georgia this fall.


These outstanding seniors, along with many others, were honored Tuesday, May 19, at Eastside High School’s Honors Night program.


The following are a list of scholarships accepted by EHS students.


Kevyn Agudo: Furman University

Broderick Alexander: University of Akron

Autumn Atwood: Bethlehem Baptist Church

Anderico Bailey: Presbyterian College

Natalia Barreto: Mercer University

Ryan Boston: Army

Cody Caho: Linda Hardy Memorial

Jesse Cannon: Army

Mollie Cronan: Georgia Southern University, Kaye Phillips Memorial and Susan White Memorial

Pearson Cunningham: B.C. Crowell, Edgar Wood Memorial and Newton County Homebuilders

Shelby David: NMC Auxiliary

Teresa Dicarlo: University of Dayton

Jason Digby: Covington Fireman’s Memorial

Andrew Ellwanger: Gardner-Webb University (athletic) and Gardner-Webb University (academic)

Adrian Freshour: Marines

Jose Gomez: Army

Michael Green: Green Financial Wrestling, Mercer University (athletic) and Mercer University (academic)

John Greene: National Guard

Joel Griswell: Dave Young Music and Reinhardt College

Hannah Hanson: Dr. Johnny Maloney Dental Careers

Kelsey Head: Covenant College

Sarah Dawn Henderson: Cindy Savage Education/Music

Brittney Herring: Chase Cain Memorial and Toccoa Falls College

Courtney Jackson: EHS Band Boosters and Homer Sharp

James Johnson: College of William & Mary, Johnson & Freeman and Phabien Jackson Football

Kayla Jones: Dr. Johnny Maloney Dental Careers, Young Harris College (athletic) and Young Harris College (academic)

Darwin Kellogg: Reinhardt College

Shantelle Lewis: Kiwanis Club

Craig Lynch: Air Force

Jowanna Malone: Harvard University and SSEMC J.E. Robinson Memorial

Marqedric Manuel: Nashville Auto-Diesel College

Caroline Meadors: Metro PCS Community Scholar

Hannah Meyer: Young Harris College

Kaitlynn Mockett: Berry College

J’Quyra Moncur-Blue: Fresno State University

Quayle Montoute: National Guard

Thao Nguyen: Georgia State University and NMC Auxiliary

Christopher Noel: National Guard

Jessica Norrington: Dr. Johnny Maloney Dental Careers

Amanda Oduah: Savannah College of Art and Design

Aaron Ogletree: Berry College, Newton County Homebuilders and Rotary Academic

Jonathan Palmer: Mercer University

James Patrick: DeVry University

Shoshanna Robinson: Zelma Hillman Stewart Health Careers

DeMia Rogers: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Diana Sanchez: Brigham Young University

Kayla Shope: Otis Spillers Rotary Vocational

Matthew Silvers: Marines

Joel Stafford: Liberty University

Antarius Terrell: Presbyterian College

Ashley Thacker: Air Force

Meghann Timmins: Covington Junior Women’s Club and Oxford College of Emory University

Sean Trammel: Marines

Rachel Treadwell: Newton County Homebuilders and NMC Health Careers

Ariel VanLeuven: American Trim, East Metro Board of Realtors and GSCA Probe

Jodi Walden: Alpha Delta Kappa Teaching and Arts Association YAP

Kaylie Waters: Maxx Computers

Dustin Whitten: Army

Karl Williams: Georgia State University

Thomas Williams: Green Financial Wrestling

Kelsey Williams: EHS Band Boosters

Sam Wolaver: Young Harris College

Justin Wray: Appalachian State University

Leaha Wynn: Harvard University, Kiwanis Club, National Achievement Scholarship and Women’s Council of Realtors

Issac Yates: Marines Reserve