By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Newly elected officials to take oaths
Newton County Constitutionals Barbara Dingler, from left, Linda Hays, Judge Henry A. Baker and Sheriff Ezell Brown are set for the swearing-in ceremony Wednesday.

Recently elected Newton County officials will officially take their oaths of office this week in two scheduled ceremonies.

Newton County’s Constitutional Officers: Barbara Dingler, Sheriff Ezell Brown and Linda Hayes are honored to announce that Judge Henry A. Baker will conduct his final swearing in of Constitutional Officers Wednesday, Dec. 28 at 7 p.m. The ceremony will take place at the Historic Courthouse, located  at 1124 Clark St.

The Swearing-In Ceremony for the Newton County Board of Commissioners (BOC) is set for Thursday, Dec. 29 at 6 p.m. in the Historic Courthouse on the second floor. Marcello Banes, Stan Edwards, Nancy Schulz and Ronnie Cowan will take their oaths.

Immediately following the ceremony will be an out-going ceremony for BOC Chairman Keith Ellis, Commissioner John Douglas and Commissioner Levie Maddox.

The community is invited to attend both events.