By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Oxford mayor, council and officials take oaths for 2019
mayor roseberry oath.jpg
Oxford mayor Jerry Roseberry takes final his oath of office from Municipal Court Judge Steven A. Hathorn Monday night at City Hall.

Oxford, Ga. – Oxford’s mayor, councilmembers and appointed officials took their oaths of office for 2019 at City Hall Monday night.

Mayor Jerry Roseberry and councilmembers Jim Windham, Jeff Wearing, Sarah Davis, Mike Ready, David Eady and George Holt were administered their oaths by Municipal Court Judge Steven Hathorn at the start of the council’s first meeting of 2019.

Hathorn also administered the oaths for City Attorney C. David Strickland, City Clerk Lauren Willis, Election Superintendent Stacey Mullen and Police Chief Dave Harvey. Hathorn also took the oath to continue as judge.

Roseberry’s oath was his last as mayor. He is stepping down at the end of the year after 12 years of leading the city. Oxford will hold municipal elections this year with the mayor’s office and three council seats up for grabs.