By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Candidates qualify for municipal offices

NEWTON COUNTY, Ga. – With qualifying closed for this year’s municipal elections, voters in several city council districts around Newton County will have choices when they go to the polls later this year.

In Covington, which has three council seats up this fall, Anthony Henderson and Jeffrey Johnson qualified for the chance to unseat Post 3 West Ward incumbent Council Member Ocie Franklin. Current Post 2 East Ward Council Member Chris Smith will have competition this fall from Susie Keck.  Incumbent Hawnethia Williams qualified for reelection for the Post 2 West Ward race.

Porterdale will see competitive races for three council posts up this fall after incumbents Tim Savage in Post 3, Mike Harper in Post 4 and Lowell Chambers in Post 5 qualified for reelection and Ryan Barrett, Marvin Moore and Rick Vaida qualified respectively to run against them.

Oxford also has three council seats up for grabs this year. Jeff Wearing and Mike Besaw qualified to run for the Post 6 seat currently occupied by Dr. Melvin Baker. Dr. Baker did not qualify. Post 4 Council Member David Eady qualified for reelection as did Post 5 Council Member Jim Windham.

In Newborn, Mayor Gregg Ellwanger qualified to run again as did Post 4 Council Member Martha Ellwanger and Post 5 Council Member Wayne Sams.  

In Mansfield, Ashlan Troutman and Blair Northen qualified for city council Post 3, Bret Dunn qualified for the Post 4 election and incumbent Bryan Hale qualified to run for Post 5.