By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Primary election set for Tuesday
Placeholder Image

30 years of Horneyhead fishing

By: Darrell Everidge

To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

Early voting has ended with a total of 3,431 people casting a vote in the 2016 primary election in Newton County.
Sending in ballots were 258 people, 123 of which were Democratic and 134 Republican. Voting at the Newton County Administration building were 3,173 people — 1,668 casting Democrat ballots and 1,490 casting Republican. Fifteen people voted nonpartisan in early voting.

The polls, which were open for early voting from May 2 through Friday at 5 p.m. at the Newton County Administration Building, will reopen on Tuesday.

Polls in voting precincts throughout the county open at 7 a.m. Tuesday and close at 7 p.m.

The primary election is an important one for Newton County voters with four elections being decided strictly on Republican or Democrat tickets.

The District 1 Commissioner seat is being contested by Republicans Nathan Bradley and Stan Edwards. The District 3 Commissioner seat is being contested by Democrats Tim “Tee” Brown, Susette Monk and incumbent Nancy Schulz. The District 5 Commissioner seat is being contested by Republicans Ronnie Cowan, Travis Moore and Jared Rutberg. Probate Judge is being contested by Republicans Melanie Bell and Shannon Sneed.

Along with the seats being contested strictly along party lines, the Newton County chair will also have plenty on the line during the primary.

Two Republicans, Levie Maddox and Aaron Varner and three Democrats, Marcello Banes, Phillip Johnson and Michael Syphoe are vying for votes for Newton County Chair.

At the state level there are also plenty of names on the ballot during the primary election.

For State Senator, District 43, Democrats Tonya Anderson, Toney Collins and Dee Dawkins-Haigler are competing for a chance to go against Republican Janice Van Ness in the general election.

Democrats will decide on the District 113 State Rep. with Pam Dickerson and Sharon Henderson both appearing on primary ballots Tuesday.

Sample ballots, which include every office for each party, regardless of district, can be found on page 4A. For voter specific sample ballots visit the Secretary of State’s My Voter Page (MVP) or call the Newton County Board of Elections office at 770-784-2055.