View Mobile Site
Posted: December 15, 2016 3:25 p.m.

19 Newton County athletes will compete in first annual Georgia Southeast All-Stars Bowl Game

Gabriel Stovall | The Covington News/

Senior tailback Anthony Brown is one of eight Eastside players adorning the Georgia Southeast All-Stars Bowl Game roster.

CovNews Comments

You must be logged in to post comments. encourages readers to interact with one another. We will not edit your comments, but we reserve the right to delete any inappropriate responses.

To report offensive or inappropriate comments, contact our editor.

The comments below are from readers of and do not necessarily represent the views of The Covington News or Morris Multimedia.

Nineteen Newton County area athletes will compete in the first annual Georgia Southeast All-Stars Bowl Game Saturday morning at McEachern High School in Powder Springs.

The Georgia Southeast Bowl is part of a series of four high school all-star football games sponsored by the American Youth Council. The AYC is a non-profit organization that’s been in existence since 2007, and has sponsored a plethora of events geared to benefit youth in various Georgia communities.

The game involving Newton County athletes will participate in will be the first of the four, with a scheduled 9 a.m. kickoff time.

Eastside leads the county with its eight athletes on the roster, followed by Newton with six and Alcovy with five. The three county GHSA schools will team up with athletes from Heritage-Conyers, Rockdale, Salem, Jackson, Jones County and Loganville on a squad called the Patriots. They’ll line up against the Warriors which will largely be comprised of athletes from 11 Henry County high schools.

The other three games will be the second annual Georgia Southwest Bowl (12:30 p.m. kickoff), made up of players from Coweta, Fayette and Spalding counties, the fourth annual Georgia Northwest Bowl (4 p.m. kickoff) and the 10th annual Cobb Senior Bowl (7:30 p.m. kickoff).

Here are the Newton County players on the roster:



TE/LB – Cameron Schadl

LB – Rai-quawn Solomon

MLB – Jerome Williams

DB/WR – Kyrese Knox

DB – Koby Perry



DB – Eric Stokes

T/DE – Shawn Bailey

RB – Anthony Brown

DB/WR – Caleb Allen

DB/WR – David Griffith

LB – Garrett Stevens

DL – Cameron Jabir-Gaither

T – Chandler Sweat



RB – Kentavis Terrell

DB – Deonta Clark

DB – Robert Black

LB – Joshua Darrington

MLB – Jarvis Hawkins

DB – Trey Alexander

No comments have been posted. Log in or Register to post a comment.

Please wait ...