View Mobile Site
Posted: June 18, 2017 5:00 a.m.

AKA Chi Tau Omega Chapter awards scholarships


Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Chi Tau Omega Chapter, which serves Newton and Rockdale County recently awarded scholarships to deserving high school seniors.

The recipients were selected based upon several criteria including academic achievement and community/civic involvement.

The 2017 scholarship recipients are Jared Griggs (Alcovy High School), Taylor Baggett (Eastside High School), Jada Johnson (Rockdale County High School), Jazz Duncan (Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology), Imani Davis (Heritage High School), Kinsley Williams (Heritage High School), Kobe Bowen (Salem High School), Tylin Siwemuke (Salem High School), Jayla Ores (Newton High School) and Cambrilyn Schofield (Newton High School).

Since 2005, Chi Tau Omega has awarded more than $120,000 in scholarships to students in Newton and Rockdale County.

Dr. Joy Jackson-Guilford is the president of Chi Tau Omega Chapter. For more information on Chi Tau Omega and its programs and events, please visit

CovNews Comments

You must be logged in to post comments. encourages readers to interact with one another. We will not edit your comments, but we reserve the right to delete any inappropriate responses.

To report offensive or inappropriate comments, contact our editor.

The comments below are from readers of and do not necessarily represent the views of The Covington News or Morris Multimedia.

No comments have been posted. Log in or Register to post a comment.

Please wait ...