View Mobile Site

Chair, vice-chair to be chosen

Posted: January 10, 2013 9:20 p.m.
Commenting is not available.


The Newton County Board of Education will choose their new chairman and vice-chairman for the year at their monthly meeting Tuesday.

Currently, the chairman is District 2 representative Eddie Johnson and vice-chairman is District 1 representative Jeff Meadors.

Historically, the board has rotated the positions annually, meaning that Meadors would serve as chairman and either District 3 representative Shakila Henderson-Baker or District 5 representative Abigail Coggin would serve as vice-chair.

Superintendent Gary Mathews made a point of drawing attention to the fact that the vote was set to occur Tuesday, saying that it was "the public heads up."


Commenting not available.

Please wait ...