View Mobile Site
Posted: July 26, 2012 9:06 p.m.

Friday last day to vote early

Today is the last day for early voting before Tuesday's Primary Election, and more than 3,700 voters have already cast their ballots.

In a crowded local election, which includes a few races that will be decided entirely in the primary, voters from both parties have been turning out. As of Thursday morning, 2,084 Republicans had either voted in office or mailed in ballots, while 1,564 Democrats had done so. In addition, 104 voters chose to vote only non-partisan.

This was the first year that the state of Georgia implemented early voting on one Saturday - with 171 voters showing up July 21 - and the first year Newton County used a satellite early voting center at Porter Memorial Branch Library for one week - 93 voters have cast ballots there Monday through Wednesday of this week. Early voting is still available today at the Porter branch, 6191 Ga. Highway 212, Covington.

There will be no early voting Monday, while the official election will be held from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday. See the list of polling places in the accompanying box on page 3A. To find which polling place voters need to use, voters can look on their voter registration card or visit and type in their information.

The polling locations for two Newton County voting precincts are different this year. The Oxford precinct will be moved to Oxford City Hall, 110 West Clark St., and the Stansells precinct will be moved to Voice of Pentecost, 4648 Salem Road.

The Newton County Citizens for Better Government are offering to take any citizens who need transportation to the polls. Residents can call (678) 712-9927 and should be ready to give their address, name of their subdivision and voting precinct so the driver can schedule rides efficiently.

First and final decision
Multiple local, state and federal races will be decided entirely in the primary, including:
• District 1 Board of Commissioners, R, between John Douglas and John Strauss
• District 4 Board of Education, D, between Franklin Perry and Almond Turner (I)
• State representative 113, D, between Pam Dickerson (I), Toney Collins and Sharon Sawyer
• State representative 109, R, between Dale Rutledge and Steve Davis (I)
• U.S. representative 10, R, between Paul Broun (I) and Steven K. Simpson


Commenting is not available.

Commenting not available.

Please wait ...